Form Vs113 - San Benito County Clerk Marriage Licenses - 2015


San Benito County Clerk
Marriage Licenses
Obtaining a marriage license:
To obtain a marriage license, (except when one party is incarcerated or hospitalized) both parties must appear
together at the County Clerk’s office located at:
440 Fifth Street, Room 206
Hollister, CA 95023
Marriage licenses are effective immediately and valid for 90 days. Once you have your wedding license the
ceremony can be performed at the church of your choice, a wedding chapel, or a Civil Ceremony may be performed.
• A blood test is not required.
• Each person must present one form of valid photo identification with proof of age.
• If either party has been granted a divorce within 90 days of applying for a new marriage license, a copy of the
final divorce decree must be presented at the time of issuance
$75.00 for a Public Marriage License
$85.00 for a Confidential Marriage License
Public License Requirements:
• The marriage ceremony may be performed anywhere WITHIN the State of California.
• At least one witness must be present on the day of the ceremony, and that witness must sign the marriage
Confidential License Requirements:
• Both parties must swear that they are already living together.
• The marriage ceremony may be performed anywhere WITHIN the State of California.
• No witnesses necessary on the day of ceremony.
• The marriage record will be maintained as confidential and ONLY the contracting parties may purchase
certified copies of the marriage certificate and must present valid ID to obtain certified copies. Except by
order of the court.
Under 18 years of age:
• This office issues marriage licenses ONLY if both parties are at least 18 years of age. If either party is under
18 years of age, they must obtain written consent of one parent, who has legal custody and a court order filed
in Superior Court approving the issuance of a marriage license. The minor must apply for a marriage license
in their county of residence. The residence of a minor is, by law, that of the parent or guardian.
Call the San Benito County Clerk’s Office at (831) 636-4029 for additional information.


00 votes

Related Articles

Related forms

Related Categories

Parent category: Business
Page of 8